6–14 تشرين الأول 2017

رسالة من المنظمين

شغفنا بالفنون والثقافة والتصميم جمعنا معاً في مبادرة جديدة وملهمة – أسبوع عمّان للتصميم

يلعب التصميم دوراً أساسيّاً في الحياة اليوميّة، إذ يمنح الشكل للفكرة، ويحل المشاكل ويحسّن من معيشة المجتمعات، ويمكّنهم من تخيّل وبناء مستقبل أفضل. التصميم هو من يشكّل ويفعّل المدن والمجتمعات والبيئات الفريدة، والتي يستقي منها الإلهام، والسمو والمتعة. يستخدم مصممو اليوم المهارات التقنيّة والإبداعيّة لتطوير طرق جديدة للوجود في العالم. وعبر إثراء التجربة اليوميّة وخلق نقاط تواصل ذات معنى مع الناس، يمنح المصمّمون صوتاً للمجتمعات حتّى يكونوا قادرين على قيادة وإلهام التغيير.

ينزع المصمّمون المحليون اليوم للابتكار ضمن قيود الثقافة البصريّة المحليّة في التصنيع والموارد. عمل هؤلاء المصممّين، سواءً عبر موجة إعادة تدوير مواد من ماضينا، أو بالاحتفاء بالعصاميّة باستعمال أدوات المستقبل الرقميّة، على التجريب باستعمال التقنيّات غير الآليّة، والتلاعب بالمواد المتوفّرة محليّاً. لتولد تصوّراتهم الملهمة، ضمن القيود السائدة، من الحوار بين الحرف التقليديّة والممارسات المعاصرة. إذ تعرّف البيئة المحليّة عمليّاتهم الإبداعيّة، خالقين، بذلك، لغة تصميم فريدة عالميّة في تطبيقها، ومتجذّرة، بنفس الدرجة، في عاميّتها الخاصّة.

تقع عمّان على طريق تقاطع الحضارات، حيث كانت ولا تزال نقطة التقاء مأمولة للناس من كافة مجالات الحياة. حيث يسمح تنوّع خلفيّات الناس والأفكار، وكجزء لا يتجزّأ من مشاهدها الطبيعيّة، بازدهارها كمركز ضيافة حيوي. ومن صلب تفرّد هذه الفرصة ومركزيّة هذا المكان، يأتي "أسبوع عمّان للتصميم": منصّة رياديّة يمكنها تسخير الإبداع، وإعادة إحياء النقاش حول التصميم، وغرس روح التعاون والتبادل.

ولعامنا الافتتاحي، نسجنا معاً برنامجاً صممّناه للحالمين الطموحين، للمتعطّشين للتعلّم، للصنّاع السبّاقين في الأردن. يستقي برنامجنا توسّعه هذا من مجتمع المصمّمين العالمي الذين اجتمعوا للمشاركة في منصّة متعدّدة التخصّصات لتبادل الأفكار، وتستقي عمقها من نسيج محكم من الانغماس في البحث والتعلّم. وبكل ما نقدّمه، يسبقنا شغفنا بالتصاميم الواعية، والعمل مع المجتمعات لخلق تجارب ذات مغزى.

انضمّوا إلينا في أيلول/ سبتمبر المقبل لخوض تجربة عمّان عبر عدسة فريدة من التصميم والثقافة والابتكار.

- عبير صيقلي و رنا بيروتي

6-14 October 2017

A Letter from the Directors

Our passion for art, design and culture has brought us together to create a new and exciting initiative – Amman Design Week. We are looking forward to sharing our vision and enthusiasm for our city with you this September.

Design plays an essential role in everyday life. It gives form to ideas, solves problems and enhances the wellbeing of communities, empowering them to imagine and build a better future. It is design that shapes unique and functional cities and environments from which we gain inspiration, transcendence and joy. Designers today use creative and technical skills to develop new ways of being in the world. By enriching daily experiences and creating meaningful connections with people, designers give communities a voice to lead and inspire change.

Today’s local designers have been driven towards innovation within visible local constraints in manufacturing and resources. Whether through a surge in up-cycling the material of our past, or in celebration of self-empowered making with the use of the digital tools of the future, these designers have experimented with the use of low-tech technologies and the manipulation of locally available material. Within the prevailing restrictions lies the essence of their inspired conceptions, born out of the dialogue between traditional craftsmanship and contemporary practice. Their creative process is defined by the local environment, as is their creation of a unique design language; at once universal in its application, and equally rooted in its own vernacular.

Amman is a city that lies at the crossroads of civilizations, and has been a sought-after point of convergence for people from all walks of life. Embedded in its landscape is a diversity of people and ideas that have allowed it to flourish into a dynamic center for hospitality. It is amid the uniqueness of this opportunity and the centrality of this place that Amman Design Week came to be; a pioneering platform that can harness creativity, revive the conversation about design, and instill a spirit of collaboration and exchange.

For our inaugural year we have woven together a program designed for the ambitious dreamers, avid learners, and proactive makers in Jordan. Our program gets its breadth from a global community of designers who have come together to participate in a multidisciplinary exchange of ideas, and gets its depth from a tightly knit engagement in research and learning. In everything we do, we are passionate about conscious design; working with communities to create meaningful experiences.

Join us this September to experience Amman through a unique lens of design, culture, and innovation.

- Rana Beiruti & Abeer Seikaly