6–14 تشرين الأول 2017

رسالة من المنظمين 2018

نتحدّى أنفسنا هذا العام لتحفيز التغيير على نطاق واسع، وذلك عبر لا مركزيّة جهودنا للوصول إلى مناطق بعيدة عن العاصمة، والتواصل مع أفراد وأفكار وطموحات جديدة، وتقريب مصمّمينا إلى المنطقة والعالم.

2018: عام الإحتمالات

خلال العامين الماضيين، أصبح أسبوع عمّان للتصميم فعالية متميّزة في الأردن والمنطقة. وقد لعب دوراً مهماً كمركزاً للربط، والتي قامت بفسح المجال للتبادل بين المصمّمين والمبتكرين والطلاب والمرشدين والحكومة  والجمهور العام.

كوننا منصة تعمل على تعزيز ثقافة التصميم وبناء نظام بيئي يتضمّن الابداع،  تتمحور مهمتنا حول جانبين؛ جانب خلق الفرص - فرص التعلّم والنمو والعرض والمشاركة والتعاون والتجربة والأكثر أهمية من كل ذلك، جانب خلق الحوار.

نموذجنا في ديمومة من التغيرات، يشكّل ويعاد تشكيله نتيجة لهذه الحوارات. يقوم فريقنا الصغير بالإحساس بما يحدث حوله وما يحدث في عالم التصميم وبالتالي يساعدنا في صقل أعمالنا وإعادة تحديد دورنا. يقوم فريقنا ومن خلال دعم مجتمعاً من المصمّمين الذين يوجّهون قراراتنا بمساعدتنا في النمو. نقوم بتصميم وإعادة تصميم أنفسنا في روح العملية الإبداعية التي نعززها ونجسّدها.

يجلب هذا العام العديد من التغيّرات المثيرة لمنصتنا، حيث نواصل استكشاف المواضيع والصيغ والمصمّمين والفرص الجديدة للتعلّم والإلهام والتواصل.

لما نقوم بالتخطيط؟

  • في عام 2018، سنتوسّع إلى ما هو أكثر من الفعالية المتكونة من تسعة أيام وسوف نوفّر البرامج الممتدة خلال العام والتي  ستتمحور حول التعلّم والتواصل ودعم المصمّمين من خلال العديد من التفاعلات والفعاليات وورشات العمل والإقامات الفنية والدورات والبرامج العامة.

  • ستقام النسخة التالية لأسبوع عمّان للتصميم في عام 2019. سوف يبقى أسبوع عمّان للتصميم كونه احتفالاً مميّزاً يقام كل عامين، وسيبقى ممثلاً للنمو الديناميكي في الابتكار والإبداع الذي مرّت به الأردن خلال العام، وكنتيجة لمبادراتنا.

  • نعلن عن هيكل تنظيمي وهيئة تنسيقية أكثر شمولاً والتي تتضمّن فريق استشاري حديث التعيين وتوسيع شبكة شركائنا. سوف يتم تطوير أسبوع عمّان للتصميم من خلال تقاطع وتفاعل العديد من المنصات وتشارك العديد من الأصوات.


عملنا لا ينتهي أبداً، وأسبوع عمّان للتصميم لن يكون أبداً منتجاً كاملاً. نحن نعمل بتأمّل أكبر، ونتحرّك مع المزيد من النوايا والتركيز لنوفر مجموعة من التفاعلات بين المصمّمين والمصنّعين والحرفيّين في الأردن وفي الخارج.  بينما نقترب للنسخة الثالثة، نبحث عن المرونة. نبقى مكرّسين لكوننا مدبّرين ومستمعين، ومستضيفين للآراء المتعددة والطرق والأفكار حول التصميم واستكشاف قوة التصميم في التمهيد للفرص الجديدة. النتيجة لن تقتصرعلى عرض من الأشياء المميزة، بل احتفالاً بالأفكار المميزة.

نحن متحمسون لرؤيتكم جميعاً مجدداً هذا العام.

- رنا بيروتي


متعلّقات

6-14 October 2017

A Letter from the Director 2018

This year brings exciting changes to our platform, as we continue to explore new themes, new formats, new designers, and new opportunities to learn, inspire, and connect.

2018: A Year of Possibilities

Over the past two years, Amman Design Week has grown to become a hallmark event in Jordan and the region. It has played a major role as a connecting point, opening up a window for exchange between designers and makers, students and mentors, and the government and the public.

As a platform working towards fostering a design culture and building an ecosystem of innovation, our mission is twofold; to create opportunities —to learn and grow, showcase, share, collaborate and experiment; and perhaps more importantly, to create conversations.

Our model is constantly in flux, modelled and re-modelled as a result of these conversations. Our small team is continuously sensing, refining, and redefining our role, along with the support of a community of designers who guide our decisions and help us grow. In the spirit of the creative process that we promote and embody, we are also designing and redesigning.

This year brings exciting changes to our platform, as we continue to explore new themes, new formats, new designers, and new opportunities to learn, inspire, and connect.

So what do we plan on doing?

  • In 2018, we are expanding beyond the nine-day event to offer year-round programming that will focus on learning, connecting, and supporting designers through multiple engagements: events, workshops, residencies, courses, and public programs.
  • The next edition of Amman Design Week will take place in 2019. It will continue to be a flagship celebration that will run biennially, and will continue to act as a momentary representation of the dynamic growth in innovation and creativity that Jordan has experienced throughout the year, and as a result of our targeted engagements.
  • We are announcing a more inclusive organizing structure and curatorial body that involves a newly appointed advisory circle, and an expansion of our partnership networks. Amman Design Week will be co-developed at the intersection of multiple platforms and with the engagement of multiple voices.


Our work is never done, and Amman Design Week is never a finished product. We are working more meditatively, and moving with more intent and focus to offer a continuous chain of meaningful engagements with designers, manufacturers, craftspeople, and audiences both in Jordan and abroad.

As we move into our third edition, we are seeking resilience and flexibility. We remain dedicated to being an instigator and a listener, playing host to different perspectives, approaches, and ideas on design, and exploring the power of design in opening up new possibilities. The result will not only be a showcase of beautiful objects, but also a celebration of beautiful ideas.

We look forward to seeing you all again this year,

- Rana Beiruti

Related