6–14 تشرين الأول 2017

التصميم لعالم الرُحّل

د. أزرا أكشاميا و د. محمد ياغان

أضف إلی المفضلة

عن المعرض

يبحث معرض "ديزاين فور اي نومادك ورلد" أو "التصميم لعالم الرُحّل" امكانية التقاء الفن, التصميم وهندسة العمارة في تلبية الاحتياجات العاطفية والثقافية والجمالية عند اللاجئين، بالاضافة الى تدعيم الالتقاء بين الثقافات وتعزيز التماسك الاجتماعي بين المهاجرين والمجتمعات المضيفة. ويقدّم المعرض الأبحاث والأعمال الابداعية التي كانت ثمرة التعاون بين ورشة تراث المستقبل – من قسم الهندسة المعمارية من معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا و قسم هندسة العمارة و البيئة المبنيّة من الجامعة الألمانية الأردنية بالتعاون مع منظمة كير - الأردن وسكان مخيم الأزرق للاجئين. وسيستعرض المعرض مجموعة من الدراسات التي تحاور مشكلات الحياة اليومية وابتكارات مخيم الأزرق. سيتكامل المعرض بورشة عمل "اللايتويفر" أو "ناسج الضوء", التي ستستعرض العملية الابداعية عبر الحدود. وستشتمل على الإنشاء المشترك لنماذج  "لايتويفر" أو "ناسج الضوء" ، وهي آلات إضاءة حركية و تعليمية تم تطويرها بالتعاون مع فنانين, مهندسين و مبتكرين من مخيم الأزرق للاجئين. وتترجم آلة لايتويفر القصص من المنسوجات إلى  تلاعب ضوئي محسوس، بهدف الحفاظ على الذاكرة الثقافية وبعث الأمل في النفوس.

ويشير عنوان المعرض إلى كتاب فيكتور بابانيك الأساسي "التصميم للعالم الحقيقي (1971)". فقد كشفت أعمال بابانيك عن التناقض بين التصميم و "الاحتياجات الحقيقية" للناس، ولا سيما المحرومين والمهمشين منهم. ويأخذ معرض "التصميم لعالم الرُحّل" مهمة بابانيك للإشارة إلى الاحتياجات الثقافية والعاطفية والجمالية للاجئين والمهاجرين. وخلال الفترة 2016-2017، قام مختبر تراث المستقبل في معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا (د. أزرا أكشاميا) بالتعاون مع قسم هندسة العمارة و البيئة المبنيّة في الجامعة الألمانية الأردنية (د. محمد ياغان) و سكان مخيم الأزرق بمناقشة موضوع المخيمات كمساحات مدنية تجري فيها عمليات التعافي الاجتماعي الضرورية ، والابتكار، والإبداع ، والتفاعلات بين الثقافات. وقاموا أيضا بالبحث والتحقيق في دور الفن والتصميم في معالجة "الاحتياجات الحقيقية" للاجئين. ويهدف المعرض إلى توسيع نطاق الحوار حول دور التصميم في أوقات الصراع والأزمات ضمن منظور عالمي.

سيقيم على المعرض د. أزرا أكشاميا (معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا) و د. محمد ياغان (الجامعة الألمانية الأردنية) بالتنظيم مع م. زيد ماضي و سَيضُم على ثمار التعاون للنماذج التجريبيّة التي عمل عليها كل من: فريق معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا ممثلين في د. أزرا أكشاميا, اليسون جيمز, جوشوا جيست, ليليان كولوجي, ينيي ما, مانيشا موهان, ميلينا فيليبو و نبيل سيفين؛ و فريق الجامعة الألمانية الأردنية ممثلين في د. ريجان عاشور, د. محمد ياغان, م. زيد ماضي؛ عضو أكاديمية الروبوتات العالمية عمر الدرويش؛ و سكان مخيم الأزرق (18 اسم). لقد تمَّ التنسيق و تمكين التعاون للعمل مع سكان مخيم الأزرق من قبل منظمة كير – الأردن. سيتم صناعة المزيد من نماذج "اللايتويفر" أو "ناسج الضوء" في ورشات العمل من قبل طلاب الجامعة الألمانية الأردنية,  معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا و سكان مخيم الأزرق, و ستضاف جميعها الى العرض.

المعرض برعاية: ورشة تراث المستقبل (معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا)؛ كاست ميلون فاكلتي (معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا)؛ المبادرة الدولية للعلوم والتكنولوجيا (معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا)؛ الجامعة الألمانية الأردنية قسم هندسة العمارة و البيئة المبنيّة؛ منظمة كير – الأردن.

  • العنوان: شارع معاذ ابن جبل, وسط البلد, عمان.
  • أوقات المعرض: الاحد – الخميس, من الساعة الثامنة صباحاً حتى الساعة الرابعة مساءَ.
  • هاتف: 06 429 4444
  • الموقع الالكتروني:  http://www.gju.edu.jo
  • صغحة الفيس بوك: SABE’s space | GJU
  • صغحة تويتر: @GJUniversity



عن د. أزرا أكشاميا

د. أزرا أكشاميا فنانة ومؤرخة معماريّة، وأستاذة مساعدة في برنامج MIT في الفن والثقافة والتقنيات، ومديرة مختبر التراث المستقبلي في MIT. يتقصّى عمل أزرا الجماليّات العابرة للثقافات، والتنقّل الثقافي، والأساليب التي يمكن للفن والعمارة أن يجسرا الهوة ما بين الثقافات. يمنح كتابها "بيان المسجد" الذي صدر العام 2015 من قبل Revolver Publishing مجموعة من الطرق التي يمكن خلالها للأشكال الإبداعيّة للتمثيلات الإسلاميّة أن توفّر فهماً أفضل ما بين الثقافات، وأن توفّر رد فعل نقدي للانطباعات النمطيّة للإسلام في الغرب. تحمل أزرا درجة الماجستير من جامعة غراز التقنيّة وجامعة برينسيتون، وشهادة الدكتوراه من MIT (HTC/ AKPIA). عرضت أعمالها في عدد من المساحات الفنيّة العالميّة الرائدة، وحصلت على جائزة آغا خان للعمارة العام 2013 لتصميمها لمصلّى داخلي في المقبرة الإسلاميّة في ألتاخ، النمسا.

عن د. محمد ياغان

حصل د. محمد ياغان على درجة البكالوريوس من الجامعة الأردنيّة، والماجستير من جامعة Strathclyde والدكتوراه من جامعة Tsukuba. وعبر دراسته الأكاديميّة، تعرف على أنظمة مختلفة من التفكير والاستقراء. وركّز في بحثه على حوسبة عناصر العمارة الإسلاميّة، وهي: المقرنصات، الأنماط الهندسيّة ثنائيّة الأبعاد، الخط العربي، والخط الحروفي العربي. تتمثّل فكرة محمد في خلق تطبيقات جديدة تتناسب مع متطلبات عصرنا، بدلاً من تكرار نسخ ماضويّة. شارك المعماري بتأسيس دار تصميم "المقرنصات للتصميم" العام 2007، والذي نفّذ أكثر من 40 مشروعاً تصميميّاً على شتّى النطاقات. وفي مجال التعليم، يسعى إلى استظهار الأفضل في طلابه عبر مساعدتهم على وضع أنهجهم التعليميّة الخاصة بدلاً من فرضها عليهم.


وسط البلد

شارع معاذ بن جبل، وسط البلد

6-14 October 2017

Design for a Nomadic World

Dr. Azra Akšamija and Dr. Mohammed Yaghan

Add to Favorites

About the Exhibition

"Design for a Nomadic World" explores how art, architecture and design can address the emotional, cultural and aesthetic needs of refugees, while fostering a better cross-cultural understanding and a social cohesion between migrant and host communities. The exhibition features the collaborative research and creative work produced by the Future Heritage Lab – MIT Department of Architecture and GJU Department of Architecture with CARE Jordan and Al Azraq camp residents. It showcases studies of everyday-life problems and inventions of the Al Azraq refugee camp. Integral part of the exhibition is the Lightweaver workshop, which presents the creative process across borders. It will involve the co-creation of the Lightweaver prototypes, a playful kinetic lighting machines and educational devices developed in collaboration with the artists, engineers and inventors from the Al Azraq refugee camp. The Lightweaver translates stories from textiles into a sensory play of light, aiming to preserve cultural memory and inspire hope.

The exhibition title references Victor Papanek’s seminal book Design for the Real World (1971). Papanek’s work revealed the discrepancy between design and the “real needs” of people, especially the unprivileged and marginalized. The Design for a Nomadic World exhibition takes on Papanek’s mission to point at the cultural, emotional, and aesthetic needs of refugees and migrants. During 2016-2017, the MIT Future Heritage Lab (Dr. Azra Aksamija) in collaboration with the GJU Department of Architecture (Dr. Mohammad Yaghan) and the residents of the Al Azraq camp, discussed camps as civic spaces where crucial social healing, innovation, creativity and cross-cultural interactions take place and investigated the role of art and design in addressing the “real needs”  of refugees. The exhibition aims to broaden the dialogue around the role of design in conditions of conflict and crisis within a global perspective.

The exhibition is curated by Dr. Azra Aksamija (MIT) and Dr. Mohammad Yaghan  (GJU) and organized by Zeid Madi. It features the collaborative work prototyped created by: MIT team members Azra Aksamija, Allison James, Joshua Jest, Lillian Kology, Xinyi Ma, Manisha Mohan, Melina Philippou, Nabil Sayfayn; GJU team members Rejan Ashour, Mohammad Yaghan, Zeid Madi; IRA member Omar Darwish; and the Al Azraq camp residents (18 Names). The collaboration with Al Azraq camp residents was facilitated by CARE - Jordan. Additional prototypes that will be created in workshops with MIT and GJU students and Al Azraq camp residents will be added to the show.

Sponsored by MIT Future Heritage Lab; MIT CAST Mellon Faculty Grant; MISTI-Arab World Program; GJU Department of Architecture; CARE Jordan.


About Dr. Azra Akšamija

Dr. Azra Akšamija is an artist and architectural historian, an Associate Professor at the MIT Program in Art, Culture and Technology and Director of the MIT Future Heritage Lab. Akšamija's work investigates transcultural aesthetics, cultural mobility, and ways in which art and architecture can form a bridge between cultures. Her book, Mosque Manifesto, published 2015 by Revolver Publishing, offers a repertoire of ways in which creative forms of Islamic representation may foster a better understanding between cultures, and provide a critical response to stereotypes about Islam in the West. Akšamija holds Master’s Degrees from the Technical University Graz and Princeton University, and a PhD from MIT (HTC / AKPIA). Her work has been shown in leading international venues. She received the Aga Khan Award for Architecture in 2013 for her design of the prayer space interior in the Islamic Cemetery Altach, Austria.

About Dr. Mohammed Yaghan

Dr. Mohammed Yaghan has a BSc from Jordan University, an MSc from the University of Strathclyde, and a PhD from the University of Tsukuba. Accordingly, he was exposed to different systems of thought and induction. His research focused on computerization of Islamic architectural elements, namely; muqarnas, two dimensional geometrical patterns, calligraphy, and Arabic typography. His vision is to create very new applications that match our contemporary era needs utilizing the logic of the form rather than replicating a copy from the past. He co-founded a design house called “Muqarnas for Design” in 2007. This design house has accomplished over forty design projects of different scales. In teaching, he strives to get the best out of every student by helping him to devise his own approach of learning rather than imposing a model of teaching.

Downtown Amman

Mu'Ath Bin Jabal St, Downtown